Two Contractors Interviewed

I now have two contractor interviews under my belt.  [Heyyyo!  Just kidding, get your minds out of the gutter, people.]

The contractors will get in touch with the subs they like to use and get back to me with their estimates.  The two folks I talked to were extremely different.  The first was deferential, unassuming, but kind.  He’s a winker, but not in a creepy way.  I myself am a winker, so I think I am a good judge of creepy winking versus not creepy winking.  Ahem.  In any event, he made a very good impression.

The second contractor was a blustering blowhard of a man.  He discounted everything my agent said and assumed she had no idea about houses.  I’m guessing it has something to do with the fact that she’s a woman.  Not a smart move on his part, pissing off me and costing him this job, and pissing off her, and costing him future jobs.  I should go back and say that this man called me darling on the phone earlier in the week and had the nerve to insist that my agent be on time for our appointment this morning.  Really?  It’s me you have to worry about, buddy.  I seriously considered cancelling his appointment at that point, but figured even an asshole can be a good contractor, so I’d give him a chance.

Today, in the midst of our walk-through, contractor #1 showed up with a subcontractor to do some measuring, which was completely fine.  But contractor #2 I guess assumed they were both subs, and started ordering them around.  Which, really, it doesn’t matter.  Even if both of the guys who showed up were subcontractors, who the hell are you to order them around?  Luckily, contractor #1 is a great sport, and just gave me a wink with a twinkle in his eye.  Contractor #2 is going to have to come up with some pretty incredible numbers to get this job.

I have one more dude to meet with on Monday, and then we wait for the estimates to come in.  I confirmed today that the shower stall in the master bath is leaking, so that is a big bummer.  Hopefully it won’t be a budget-busting bummer, just a budget-adjusting bummer.

In a related note, I’m available for babysitting and legal ghostwriting!  😉  Momma could use the cash!

2 thoughts on “Two Contractors Interviewed

Leave a Reply

