Feeling good (and a little impatient)

After a long month of being assured my loan transfer was being pushed to the top of the pile, and that it was a priority, it was finally officially bought by M&T bank last week.  I was really pleased to get a phone call Friday night at 7 in the evening from the associate who will be helping me get my money.  Woohoo for people working late.  Also, a brief shout out to my babysitting charge for that evening, who mercifully talked to his Blue’s Clues dog while I was on the phone.  🙂

I got my first water bill for the new house.  How about a $50 deposit, refundable after six months, plus a $50 fee just for turning the water on?  Dang!  Looking forward to that refunded deposit, though.  That will be nice six months from now.

My first electric bill for the new house came, too.  Progress Energy’s website is smart enough to realize that the SJF with an account on Dennis is also the SJF with an account on Lions Way, so I didn’t have to do anything fancy to get that account all set up for electronic payments.  I was impressed.  I bet I lose all of that easy-breezy functionality when the merger with big-bad-no-good-dirty-rotten-scoundrel Duke Energy is completed.

My old house is a MESS.  I mean, I’m usually messy, but the level of chaos in here is not fun.  Boxes everywhere, no where for guests to sit, and I just want to be done.  I’m talking to TROSA moving this week, so I’ll have an idea of what that will cost . . .  might be eating a lot of lentils and rice for the next few weeks!

Ooh!  The mail did bring two fun things.  The same lists that the scary insurance salespeople buy I guess can be bought by lots of other people, too.  Jersey Mikes welcomed me to the ‘hood with a coupon for a free sub and Bed Bath & Beyond gave me a 20% off coupon.  I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

