Nothing Scary…

My brother and his fiancee, who are nameless on here because I haven’t asked them if it’s OK to name them, wanted to see my house when they were down for Christmas.  I think the last time they were here was before I moved in and before ye olde stinky carpets were removed.  They were suitably impressed with the updates. 

Upstairs, my mom was eager to show off the tile work that was done when the master bath’s shower drain was replaced.  Matching tile is nigh impossible, but I think we found a great contrasting set of tiles to make the change look more like an upgrade than a repair. Mom agrees, and she was eager to show bro + main squeeze.  I was 99% sure that I had tidied up the bathroom before I left, but that 1% uncertainty was enough to have me asking my brother, who was the first into the tiny room, “There’s nothing scary in there, is there?”

He said, “No, not if by scary you don’t mean this 40 year old light fixture, the stock vanity that still has the manufacturer’s sticker on it, or this huge ugly mirror.”

Ha!  Don’t worry, he was impressed with the tile work. I must take pictures of the hideousness in that bathroom.  It is fairly low on the priority list, but he’s right, there are a real collection of dated and cheap things in there.  They will be easy to swap out, though, it’s just a matter of getting to them.  I might even take the mirror down early and just put up a nice HomeGoods decorator’s mirror instead. 

Right now, I’m saving to replace the carpet in the den (might not be too expensive after all), replace the six windows upstairs (bigger ticket project, and not a lot of fun as far as decor goes, really; hope to do this in 2013), and replace the six windows downstairs that aren’t bay/picture/sliding glass/in a door (hope to do this in 2014).  And maybe add in there changing the wood fireplace out for a gas fireplace.  I love the wood, but I’m learning that it’s actually pretty darn ineffective for heating your home.  I’d rather have a fireplace that will actually kick out some heat in a pinch, so maybe that’s a 2014 big ticket item, too.  And of course, in between there, there shall be much spray painting and hammering and suchlike.

One thought on “Nothing Scary…

Leave a Reply

